Migrating?

This past few months, I’ve been talking to different people via TinyChat. Their ages range from 14-19 years old. I first stumbled upon TinyChat through PBBTeen Clash of 2010’s Fanpage. And I hated being there because only those with cams were noticed.

What is TinyChat anyway? Tinychat, is an internet chat service that allows users to communicate via instant messaging, voice and video chat. It offers thousands of chat rooms and the ability for users to create their own virtual chat room on any topic and category. (source Wikipedia)

I started using it some time last June. And I admit that I started staying up really late (Or may I say, really early? Hahaha!) because I enjoyed chatting with them. Why late? Because they all came from different parts of the world, primarily in Canada and the United States. I asked them one time if it’s okay to write an article about their situations and maybe publish it somewhere. Them – Teenagers who had to migrate abroad because their families are going to, or their parents are working there or just because they really have no option. They agreed that I may do so and even volunteered to help out.

I have never imagined being in their shoes. Going to a totally different place, leaving your families and friends behind and starting out again. I’m not saying that I might not survive it, maybe because I got used to being in one place all my life. I’ve been living for 17 years in the same house, studied in the same school from Kinder up to High School (it wasn’t that much hard adjusting to college because I had the same classmate in college, she’s only one though but at least. :)), traveled with the same car since I was brought home from the hospital until now.

I am loyal to the Philippines. I know right? Every time I’m asked where I would want to visit, I definitely say somewhere in our country. Isn’t it better to explore your own place first before you dream of being in abroad. I’m not contradicting people but I stand to that. :)

Going back to my topic, the TinyChatters from all over the globe..

They’re fluent with the language of the country they are all in (can even speak the second language) but you can still sense/feel/notice how Filipino they are. In the morning, while some are just about to wake up, I on the other hand is already waiting for the pandesal. And I remember the first time I offered my chat-mates for it, they all responded to, “Nakakamiss!”

It has been two months since I first chatted with these people. And I learned to love them as my real friends. Not just cyber/internet/whatever friends you may call them. The downpart of being friends with them is I’m always puyat. They’re being unfair with it, right? Haha.

This blog is so misleading! So I’ll stop it. :D

What can you say?

